Spring cleaning

CDs
Spring’s here, and it’s time to thoroughly clean everything – even the CD rack.

This is actually the first time I do this. Not that I haven’t passed a CD on that I didn’t care for before, but never have I removed this many at once. And since musical taste changes and gets refined by time (until you’re about thirty, they say) there has to be some casualties along the way. Even those I have been so sure about that I bought them. Here’s a short list with last words (and a bit of mocking, too. Well, mostly mocking). Starting from top left to right.

      • Cruel Hand – Prying Eyes
        I think that this band does have a good sound, but I also feel it just blends in with the mass. I can’t see why I should listen to this band over any other band that goes with the tag “hardcore punk” or just “punk”. Same goes for most of the Bridge Nine releases from this list.
      • Dead Swans – Sleepwalkers
        It’s a shame that this album just completely sunk into the deep sea of whatever. There were some promising sounds coming from this at first listen, but it just didn’t hold on to me in the long run.
      • Death Before Dishonor – Better Ways To Die
        I get the impression that they have some kind of gang inspired image taken from the hip hop community, which however does flow well together with their bold musical style. I’m just not digging it. But should image go over music? I’ll discuss that in a future post.
      • Death Before Dishonor – Friends Family Forever
        Yeah yeah, whatever.
      • Korn – Live And Rare (Compilation)
        With this album, I found out that I mostly just hate compilations. They feel so redundant. I mean, a digial release in the form of a Spotify playlist would’ve made so much more sense. But things were different back in 2006, so here, 11 live and two previously unreleased tracks. Yeez.
      • Limp Bizkit – Greatest Hitz
        Haha, yeah, more like greatest shitz. Okay, I actually might’ve kept like four songs from this album on my harddrive, so its not like I absolutely can’t stand the music. But I kept them more for the sake of nostalgia rather than the music. Which in itself is somehow problematic…
      • Bridge Nine Singles Vol.1 (Compilation)
        A collection of songs from different bands on the Bridge 9 roster. I don’t know why I don’t like them. My guess would be that they all sound the same (ouch, thats kinda harsh – but thats my experience).
      • Serj Tankian – Elect The Dead
        I think this might actually be one of the first records I ever bought. I still remember walking into the store on release day (the record’s from 2007, and that’s a long time ago, and it’s only getting farther away). I was a big System of a Down fan back then, and I remember how I wanted to support Tankian in his solo endeavour and how I loved his ‘crazyness’. It really just appears so childish to me now.
      • Panic – Strength In Solitude
        Another band amongst bands with the “hardcore punk”-tag.

Feeling like buying some of these releases following my sales pitch? They will definitely be for sale sometime via Discogs.com, but if you want to be sure not to miss out you can always post a comment.

Leave a Reply

