A year in retrospect

So 2013 was massive in so many ways. In january I went to a Folk High School for half a year (check: Vallekilde) and met so many cool, inspiring people, whom I otherwise would never have met. Many of these people ended up becoming my best friends.
I challenged myself personally in a lot of different ways, explored my interest in writing as I attended the writer’s course, and met a wide range of danish authors.
I went from having texts on my hard drive that nobody knew existed, to standing in front of 50-60 people and reading my texts aloud.

Note: I don’t know the people in the photo, the picture just perfectly catches the atmosphere of the school. It might look like I did not have any friends, but I did. Trust me. Lol. Credit goes to Vallekilde.dk

This kind of self-realization, together with all the people I got to know, makes up for one of the greatest and most vital changes that has ever occurred in my life. Seriously, I now know people from the whole country and not just from my hometown. I’ve seen how things can be done in a lot of different ways and not just the way they do it back home. It was all pretty amazing and I’m having quite a hard time putting it into sentences and keeping it brief at the same time.

Another thing that happened during my stay at Vallekilde was my proper introduction to HypeMachine, a music site that collects songs from the blogosphere and puts them under one hood. I had created an account ages ago, but now I knew people who used it as well, and thus it made a lot more sense to me.

As I dilligently began to use HypeMachine,  I started discovering music in a new way. This does not only mean music diversity, but it has somehow also made it hard to compile a list of best newly discovered artists. You could turn that down as whining. But really, it has not been easy. Coming up is a list of top new artists for this year.

Leave a Reply

